The Abbey-Principality encourages scholarship as part of its mission in the community. It maintains an archive of books, documents, religious and related artefacts connected with its past and that of its constituent and related church jurisdictions. Some items from the archive are illustrated below:


The Abbey-Principality has also inherited a number of educational institutions. These are organized under the Anglican Association of Colleges and Schools, the Abbey-Principality’s in-house accrediting association, which has overall responsibility for the operations and quality assurance of its educational outreach. In addition, other educational bodies independent of the Abbey-Principality may be invited to become members.

>>Anglican Association of Colleges and Schools

The Western Orthodox University

The Western Orthodox University was founded in 1945 and incorporated as a constituent body of the Catholicate of the West in 1950. It continues the work of the earlier Intercollegiate University, founded in the USA in 1888. Today, it is a constituent division of European-American University (Bunyoro-Kitara, Panama) which was incorporated by Royal Charter of H.M. the Omukama of Bunyoro-Kitara in 2012 and is under the headship of the Prince-Abbot of San Luigi. It has a full relationship of reciprocal partnership, recognition and accreditation with the historic Pontificia Accademia Tiberina in Rome, Italy, founded in 1813 and recognized by the Sacred Congregation of Studies under Pope Leo XII in 1825.

The primary purpose of the Western Orthodox University today is as the seminary of the Catholicate of the West and the means by which its clergy and lay officers may be trained to pursue religious vocations within the Church, including the ordained ministry, the lay pastorate and lay readership. It offers religious degree programs in theology and ministry (including lay readership and church music) from an initial postsecondary level through to research and practice-based doctorates. There is limited provision for the award of degrees in other areas, and for the award of honorary degrees. The validating and awarding body for all degrees is European-American University. There is further validation from a number of government-recognized universities in Latin America that have agreed to accept the University’s awards on a reciprocal basis for the award of a dual degree.

The other function of the Western Orthodox University is as a research institution and archival repository. The University has an overall mission to collect information and resources concerned with the smaller Catholic, Orthodox and Continuing Anglican churches during the post-1866 period. This embraces a general scholarly interest in the modern independent sacramental movement both historically and in terms of theology and practice, and an ongoing programme of research. The European-American University Press provides the main means for the book publication of its research output while the Orthodox Catholic Review serves as its occasional journal.

>>The Western Orthodox University

The Pythagorean University of Krotona

The Pythagorean University of Krotona, Graeca Magna, was founded by the great philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras in the fifth century before Christ. In the twentieth-century, it was re-established and chartered by the Patriarchate of Antioch in the Ancient Orthodox Catholic Church under Patriarch Moran Mar Basilius Abdullah III (Dr William Bernard Crow, 1895-1976). The University, which is today organized as a division of European-American University, exists as a private research institution for the study of the arcane sciences and cognate matters.

>>The Pythagorean University of Krotona