Royal Office of the Crown of Belarus

Home » San Luigi

San Luigi

The Abbey-Principality of San Luigi

The Abbey-Principality of San Luigi is a Traditional Catholic sovereign principality whose government-in-exile is today based in the United Kingdom. Since 2015, its headship has been in personal union with that of the Royal House Polanie-Patrikios.

It was established by a group of French and Spanish Benedictine monks at the oasis settlement of Ghadames, in the Touareg-Azzar country (Fezzan/Fizzan, since incorporated into present-day Libya) on St Louis’ Day, 25 August 1883. The colony was independent according to its Constitution and the Revd. Fr. Dom Henrice Pacomez was elected the first Prince-Abbot. In 1885, following the murder of the second Prince-Abbot and the sacking of the abbey, the five remaining monks were forced into exile in Bunyoro-Kitara (today one of the constituent kingdoms of Uganda), where the Omukama (King), H.M. Chwa II Kabalega, recognized the Prince-Abbot, honouring him with the additional chiefly title of Mukungu, translated as “Prince-Governor,” and granted territory to the monastic community for the re-establishment of the abbey. Between 1883 and 1899, and again between 1925 and 1929, the Prince-Abbots of San Luigi were in full communion with Rome. Since 1929, the Abbey-Principality has functioned as an autocephalous jurisdiction representing a Traditional Catholic and Western Orthodox position. The eighth and present Prince-Abbot, and the sixth Mukungu, is the Most Revd. John Kersey (regnal name Edmond III).

SL ecclesiastical armsThe Abbey-Principality is additionally responsible for two historic Chivalric Orders, the Sovereign, Chivalrous Nobiliary and Religious Order of the Crown of Thorns, and the Sovereign, Knightly and Noble Order of the Lion and the Black Cross, as well as for the Grand Prix Humanitaire de France et des Colonies (the Cross of Merit of the Order of the Crown of Thorns). It also incorporates a religious order, the Order of Antioch, which today functions as a Traditional Catholic and Western Orthodox jurisdiction. The Order of Antioch is a member of the International Council of Community Churches, which is a member of the World Council of Churches, Churches Uniting in Christ and the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA. As a Western Orthodox jurisdiction, the Order of Antioch recognizes the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church as its parent body, that church having been responsible for the episcopal consecration of Prince-Abbot Joseph III (reigned 1899-1929) as Metropolitan of the Old Catholics in the United States in 1892.

From 1960 onwards each order was placed under a High Protector. In the case of the Order of the Crown of Thorns, this was the late King Peter II of Yugoslavia (pictured left) and since his death in 1970 this position has been left vacant in his memory. King Peter also formally recognized the title of Prince de San Luigi in Letters Patent of 1962. The Order of the Lion and the Black Cross appointed as its High Protector the Crown Prince, now H.I.M. Emperor Akihito of Japan. The Order of Antioch appointed as its High Protector H.I.R.H. Prince Louis Ferdinand of Prussia, who died in 1994, since when this position has been vacant.

In 2012, H.M. Rukirabasaija Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I, the reigning Omukama of Bunyoro-Kitara, who is the grandson of Omukama Chwa II Kabalega, accepted an invitation from the present Prince-Abbot to become a Royal Patron of the Order of the Crown of Thorns and the Order of the Lion and the Black Cross. A bilateral Treaty on Friendly Relations and Co-operation between the Abbey-Principality and the Kingdom of Bunyoro-Kitara entered into force at the same time.

The Orders, whose membership is international and ecumenical, exist to recognize Christian charity and service, to defend the values of the Catholic and Orthodox faith and to support the re-establishment of the Abbey-Principality. While the Order of the Crown of Thorns is restricted to Christians and the Order of Antioch to clergy, the Order of the Lion and the Black Cross admits members regardless of their faith.

The past membership of the San Luigi Orders includes several saints of the Orthodox Churches, bishops of the Orthodox churches and the Anglican Communion, heads of Royal Houses, a former President of the United States, and other notable personalities.

Further reading:

> List of distinguished members
> History
> Archive

The Abbey-Principality today

JK 15.6.14The designation Abbey-Principality, once prevalent within the Roman Catholic Church along with that of the prince-bishop, reflects the fact that in the Fezzan, the Prince-Abbot exercised temporal power as a sovereign prince over its abbey and surrounding area. Today, having been exiled from its former lands (which were subsequently incorporated into present-day Libya), San Luigi cypherthe Abbey-Principality no longer has responsibility for territorial governance, but continues to hold the jus honorum deriving from its former sovereign status as well as preserving for its head the rank of a Prince of the Church. The jurisdiction is administered from London, England, where the current Prince-Abbot (pictured left) resides.

The San Luigi Orders Charitable Trust represents the San Luigi Orders in the United Kingdom and administers their activities with respect to charitable fundraising. The Trust is a member of the Small Charities Coalition and Charity Trustee Network and is recognized as a charity for tax purposes by H.M. Revenue and Customs under Paragraph 1, Schedule 6 of the Finance Act 2010.

Further reading:

> News
> Publications and policy documents

Arms of the Royal House Polanie-Patrikios

Device of the Abbey-Principality of San Luigi

Royal Office on Facebook